Audition for an Ensemble Role in Getting to Know . . . The Sound of Music

 
Art file.jpg

Description: Students may audition for an ensemble role in the production featuring Advanced Musical Theatre students. Potential ensemble roles include appearing as a nun, being in the party scene, being at the concert, and/or having a cameo role. All cast members will participate in the finale and will receive vocal and dance training as they learn the music and choreography for the show.

Age Restriction: Ages 8-18

Audition Date/Time: Saturday, March 25, 2017 at 11:00 a.m.

Audition Location: InnOVATION Arts Academy Studio, 2670 Wilhite Drive, First Floor, Lexington, KY 40503

Audition Requirements: Please be prepared to sing a 16-bar classical or musical theatre song (an accompanist will be available or a recording can be used). Students who do not have a song prepared may also sing a familiar song, such as “Happy Birthday.” A short movement sequence will be taught during the audition, so please bring jazz shoes if you have them and wear clothes that you can move in.

While an in-person audition is preferable, we will accept a video audition only if the student is not available during the audition time on March 25th.

Rehearsal Schedule: Students selected for the ensemble must be available for rehearsals on the following dates and times (some roles may not be called for every rehearsal or for the entire rehearsal):

  • Saturday, April 15, 11:30 am-1:00 pm
  • Saturday, April 22, 11:30 am-1:00 pm
  • Monday, May 1, 5:00-7:30 pm
  • Wednesday, May 3, 5:00-7:30 pm
  • Friday, May 5, 5:00-7:30 pm
  • Saturday, May 6, 1:00-6:00 pm
  • Monday, May 8, 5:00-7:30 pm
  • Wednesday, May 10, 5:00-7:30 pm
  • Friday, May 12, 5:00-7:30 pm
  • Sunday, May 14, 2:00-9:00 pm
  • Tuesday, May 16, 5:00-9:00 pm
  • Wednesday, May 17, 6:30-9:30 pm

Performances (all students perform in every show):

  • Friday, May 19, 7:30 pm
  • Saturday, May 20, 7:30 pm
  • Sunday, May 21, 2:00 pm AND 7:30 pm

Tuition + Costume Fee: $175 (full payment due by May 1)